Feb 24, 2021  
2019-2020 Springfield College Catalog 
2019-2020 Springfield College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College Consortium Agreements

College Consortium Policy

To ensure students have access to courses needed to make academic progress and graduate in 4-years, the College has a partnership with 7 area colleges and universities known as the Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS) and with the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) College Consortium for online courses.  All coursework needs to be approved by the Academic Advising Center. Credit is not available for internships or graduate courses. Approved courses completed through these partnerships will count towards a student’s residency requirement and Springfield College GPA.

Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS)

The members of CCGS include American International College, Bay Path College, Elms College, Holyoke Community College, Springfield Technical Community College, Western New England University, and Westfield State University.  Students are limited to two courses or 6-8 credits per fall or spring term (summer options are not available) and must be registered as a full-time student (combination of Springfield College and CCGS courses must total at least 12 credit hours).  Tuition costs for courses taken for cooperating college credit are paid by student’s home college. (Note that additional course fees may apply.)

Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) College Consortium

The members of the CIC College Consortium include other 4-year private institutions across the country.  Students can take a course through the CIC College Consortium during the summer term or winter intersession.  All courses are online and completed through another institution’s learning management system. The cost for each course is based on the online and regional tuition price per-credit and will be applied to the student’s Springfield College bill.